crystalbowman4I recently sat down (digitally, that is) with Crystal Bowman to talk about her books. Crystal is the author of over 100 books, many of which have been bestsellers and award-winners. She’s a delightful lady who loves sharing her gift with others.

Here’s what we we talked about.


Crystal, what would you like parents/grandparents to know about your most recent book?

jy654I want parents/grandparents to know that my most recent book (as well as all of my books), is in line with the teachings in the Bible. Though authors have creative license to make their devotionals or Bible stories kid-friendly and fun to read, I want the spiritual take-away to always be true to Scripture.

What’s something that you’re passionate about?

Teaching children that God loves them very much and that every child is uniquely created by God for His purpose. I am passionate about writing books for children because I want to reach them while they are still teachable.

What makes a great children’s book great?

The content has to be great as well as the writing. You can have good writing with bland content, and you can have good content with not-so-great writing. A great children’s book needs both.

What’s your favorite children’s book?

on-the-night-you-were-bornI have so many, it’s hard to narrow it down to one. I love On the Night You Were Born, by Nancy Tillman. It’s so deeply emotional yet sweet. It captures everything that young parents are experiencing and feeling when they bring a child into the world. Great writing and great content!

What’s something about writing that has surprised you?

How hard it is. Even though it is one of my deepest passions–it’s hard. The more I write the harder it gets because I keep learning more and more, and there are so many dimensions and elements that have to exist in a good children’s book in order to be a book that people will want to buy. I also feel that every book I write has to be better than or equal to the previous one. Since I have written over 100 books, the bar keeps getting higher.


We’ll check back in with Crystal from time to time since she’ll definitely have more new books to talk about!

Leave a Reply

